Sangeet Natak Akademi National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama New Delhi

PRESS RELEASE

15 February 2010

DECLARATION OF SANGEET NATAK AKADEMI FELLOWSHIPS (AKADEMI RATNA) AND AKADEMI AWARDS (AKADEMI PURASKAR) FOR THE YEAR 2009

The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi at its meetings held on 29 January and 12 February 2010 elected six (6) eminent personalities in the field of performing arts namely Lalgudi Jayaraman, Shreeram Lagoo, Yamini Krishnamurti, Kamlesh Dutt Tripathi, Pandit Jasraj and Kishori Amonkar as Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellows (Akademi Ratna). The Fellowship of the Akademi is the most prestigious and rare honour, which is restricted to a very limited number at a given time. Presently there are only 32 Fellows of the Sangeet Natak Akademi.

The General Council of the Akademi also selected 33 persons from the fields of Music, Dance, and Theatre for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the year 2009.

In the field of Music, eight eminent artists namely Abdul Rashid Khan and Vasundhara Komkali for Hindustani Vocal Music, Lachman Singh Seen (Tabla) and Ali Ahmad Hussain (Shehnai) for Hindustani Instrumental Music, Parassala B Ponnammal for Carnatic Vocal, U Srinivas (Mandolin) and Dandamudi Sumathi Rama Mohan Rao (Mridangam) for Carnatic Instrumental Music, and L. Ibohalmacha Singh (Nata Sankirtana) for Other Major Traditions of Music have been selected.

In the field of Dance, eight eminent practitioners namely Ananda Shankar Jayant (Bharatanatyam), Prerana Shrimali (Kathak), Kalamandalam Rajan (Kathakali), L. Bino Devi (Manipuri), Geeta Mahalik (Odissi), Vyjayanathi Kashi (Kuchipudi), Daksha Sheth (Creative & Experimental Dance) and Kala Krishna (Other Major Traditions of Dance – Andhranatyam) have been selected.

Contd.....2

:2:

In the field of Theatre also, eight eminent persons have been selected. They include

Shankar Narayan Navre (Marathi) and Vayala Vasudevan Pillai (Malayalam) for Playwriting,

Sudha Shivpuri and Neeta Mohindra for Acting, and Joy Michael and Dinesh Thakur for

Direction. For Allied Theatre Arts Kamal Arora (Make-up) and Kuldeep Singh (Music for

Theatre) have been selected.

For their contribution to Other Traditional/Folk/ Tribal Music/ Dance/ Theatre

Musafir Ram Bhardwaj, Folk Dance (Himachal Pradesh); Vilayat Khan Ragi, Dhadhi Folk Music

(Punjab); U K Kunjirama Panicker, Theyyam (Kerala); Jaganath Behera, Pala (Orissa); Shanti

Jain, Folk Music (Bihar); Vithal Gangaram Umap, Folk Theatre (Maharashtra) and Bhikhudan

Govindbhai Gadhvi, Folk Music (Gujarat) have been selected and Moinul Haque has been

selected for contribution to Mime.

Leela Venkataraman has been selected for her overall contribution to Performing Arts.

The Akademi Fellow (Akademi Ratna) and Akademi Award (Akademi Puraskar) have

been conferred since 1952, which not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and

achievements on a national basis, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution to

the practice and appreciation of the arts through performance, teaching and scholarship. The

honour of Akademi Fellow carries purse money of Rs 3,00,000/- (Rupees three lacs) and Akademi

Awards carry Rs 1,00,000/- (Rupees one lac), besides Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

List of Akademi Fellow (Akademi Ratna) and Akademi Awardees (Akademi Puraskar) for

the year 2009 is enclosed.

Jayant Kastuar

Sangeet Natak Akademi

Sangeet Natak Akademi New Delhi

SANGEET NATAK AKADEMI FELLOWSHIPS AND AKADEMI AWARDS 2009

AKADEMI RATNA (FELLOW)

LALGUDI G. JAYARAMAN
SHREERAM LAGOO
YAMINI KRISHNAMURTI
KAMLESH DUTT TRIPATHI
PANDIT JASRAJ
KISHORI AMONKAR

AKADEMI PURASKAR (AWARDS) FOR THE YEAR 2009

FIELD OF ACTIVITY - MUSIC

	ABDUL RASHID KHAN	HINDUSTANI VOCAL
2.	VASUNDHARA KOMKALI	HINDUSTANI VOCAL
3.	LACHMAN SINGH SEEN	HINDUSTANI INSTRUMENTAL (TABLA)
4.	ALI AHMED HUSSAIN	HINDUSTANI INSTRUMENTAL (SHEHNAI)
5.	PARASSALA B PONNAMMAL	CARNATIC VOCAL
6.	U SRINIVAS	CARNATIC INSTRUMENTAL (MANDOLIN)
7.	DANDAMUDI SUMATHI RAMA MOHAN RAO	CARNATIC INSTRUMENTAL (MRIDANGAM)
8.	L. IBOHALMACHA SINGH	OTHER MAJOR TRADITIONS OF MUSIC – NATA SANKIRTANA OF MANIPUR

FIELD OF ACTIVITY - DANCE

1. ANANDA SHANKAR JAYANT BHARATANATYAM

2. PRERANA SHRIMALI KATHAK

3. KALAMANDALAM RAJAN KATHAKALI

4. L BINO DEVI MANIPURI

5. GEETA MAHALIK ODISSI

6. VYJAYANATHI KASHI KUCHIPUDI

7. DAKSHA SHETH CREATIVE & EXPERIMENTAL DANCE

8. KALA KRISHNA OTHER MAJOR TRADITIONS OF

DANCE - ANDHRANATYAM

FIELD OF ACTIVITY - THEATRE

1. SHANKAR NARAYAN NAVRE PLAYWRITING (MARATHI)

2. VAYALA VASUDEVAN PILLAI PLAYWRITING (MALYALAM)

3. JOY MICHAEL DIRECTION

4. DINESH THAKUR DIRECTION

5. SUDHA SHIVPURI ACTING

6. NEETA MOHINDRA ACTING

7. KAMAL ARORA ALLIED THEATRE ARTS –

MAKE - UP

8. KULDEEP SINGH ALLIED THEATRE ARTS –

MUSIC FOR THEATRE

FIELD OF ACTIVITY – TRADITIONAL/FOLK/TRIBAL DANCE/MUSIC/THEATRE AND PUPPETRY

MUSAFIR RAM BHARDWAJ FOLK MUSIC & DANCE, HIMACHAL

PRADESH

2. VILAYAT KHAN RAGI DHADHI FOLK MUSIC, PUNJAB

3. U K KUNJIRAMA PANICKER THEYYAM, KERALA

4. JAGANNATH BEHERA PALA, ORISSA

5. SHANTI JAIN FOLK MUSIC, BIHAR

6. VITTHAL GANGARAM UMAP FOLK THEATRE, MAHARASHTRA

7 BHIKHUDAN GÖVINDBHAI GADHVI FOLK MUSIC, GUJARAT

8. MOINUL HAQUE MIME

FIELD OF ACTIVITY – OVERALL CONTRIBUTION/SCHOLARSHIP IN PERFORMING ARTS

LEELA VENKATARAMAN OVERALL CONTRIBUTION TO

PERFORMING ART